Honest Scrap Award

Honest Scrap Award

So, Carrie Ann (Another Day, Another Thought..or Two) has awarded me the Honest Scrap award. I am, apparently, to publish to the world 10 true things about myself and then nominate 5 other bloggers to pass on the honesty love.

Hmmmm.

Since I am in an expansive mood, having just survived an encounter with a gopher snake hissing at our 10 week old puppy, I have decided to bestow upon you those things that I find true about myself.

You may want to remove the small children and elderly from the screen. No? Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Truth #1: I like cookies. While I realize that this isn’t an earth shattering admission, it does have its consequences. Namely to my thighs and hips. Cookies are a bit of an obsession with me and I cannot have them in the house. Just so we’re clear, graham crackers do not count as they are a cracker and not a cookie.

Truth #2: I like to read. I will read a book from beginning to end in a couple of hours. I just pulled out all my books from their boxes after moving and found that I need more shelves. Well, more like 5 more book cases. My husband says its an addiction worse than crack cocaine. I don’t know what he’s talking about, too many books. How can you have too many books? I just need more shelves.

Truth #3: I am a mouse potato. I would rather spend time on the computer than watching the TV. Of course, there isn’t much on TV that I’d like to watch and at least my computer’s spam filter is a good one. Just an FYI, you know you are a mouse potato when you have to deliberately turn away from the screen to have a two second conversation with your spouse and/or child. Not having access to the Internet for the past 4 days has been a good thing for me. Jittery but good.

Truth #4: I like to color but not to draw. This is a bit of an odd admission for me since I am a pretty good artist. I can draw, mind you, I just prefer to play with lights and shadows than figure out the lines beforehand. Coloring books rock!

Truth #5: Pink is my favorite color. It didn’t used to be. However, the fact that I have 1 husband, 3 sons, and a male puppy has forced me to remind them with a subtle clue that I am, in fact, female and not “just one of the guys.” In other words, I don’t appreciate them farting, burbing, or pulling things out of their noses at the dinner table. Or any other time for that matter.

Truth #6: I wrote a book. Okay, it was a really bad one but still I took the time to write it. As a matter of fact, I’m stuck in the editing phase for it at the moment. I can’t figure out how to get the main characters from point A to point B and still kill off the henchman. Anyhoo, the book was the product of National Novel Writing Month (and yes, I did win!). I plan on writing another book this November and will be posting about it on my other blog, Write Chronicles.

Truth #7: I am a bad granddaughter. I should call my grandparents more often but I don’t. It isn’t that I don’t love them because I do. I’m just lazy.

Excuse me for a moment.

Okay, just confirmed that my grandparents still love me. Now we can move onto….

Truth #8: I swear like a sailor. Well, not all the time but I have been known to exhibit more salty language. This only becomes a major problem when the two year old begins to repeat everything I say.

Truth #9: I hate snakes. Okay, I admit it. I do not love all of God’s creatures. Snakes creep me out. There is a gopher snake living under the timber shoring up the lawn in our backyard and I can’t send the kids out to play until it leaves. Which I have a feeling it won’t. It hissed at my puppy which automatically puts it on my s**t list. Plus they ick me out with their wide mouths and eating of live animals. Eww.

Truth #10: I have a hot temper but just as quickly forgive. As my hubs puts it, I’m a bit high strung (and high maintenance but those are separate issues. I think.). I pray every day for access to the Fruits of the Spirit and, on some days, I fail miserably. On the flip side, I’ve learned to forgive and ask for forgiveness which you would think is an inherent behavior but isn’t. It was a tough learning process that made my family stronger in the end.

Okay, that’s done. Kind of cathartic. Anyhoo, I nominate the following people for the Honest Scrap award:

No, I realize that isn’t five people on my nominee list, and yes, I can count. I’ve nominated 2 very special people that I respect and admire. I’d nominate Carrie Ann, too, but she’s already gotten the award and we don’t want her head to swell too much. She’s fabulous and she knows it.