Well, I had an absolutely lovely time in Madison, WI last week. I attended the Conference on Distance Teaching and Learning and was able to meet up with my colleagues from PLS. Believe it or not, it was the first time we’d ever met in person! And we’ve been working together for nearly a year now. Both Natalie and Christy have some insightful views on the conference. You may even get to see pictures of us!

Although there were many, many things I took away from the conference there was one concept that went unsaid but was implied: our educational system needs to incorporate technology as a matter of course not as an addition to the curriculum.

There are many benefits to using technology in the classroom, like preparing our students for their futures in the global marketplace. Unfortunately, the way most of our educational institutions are set up, change comes slowly, if at all. There is no perfect answer to getting technology accepted in education.

Classroom Tech

 

Using tech everyday in the classroom. Reality?

Please don’t misunderstand me. Tech is being used to some extent but I think the full potential of distance learning or Web 2.0 is not being used to greatest effect in the classroom.

Throughout the conference there was much tooting of the tech horn in the classroom (it being a DL conference, after all), I kept wondering “what about those who cannot afford technology, either in the classroom or at home?” We haven’t done much to bridge the divide that the cost of technology creates. And this concerns me greatly. We focus so much on getting our kids to do the 3Rs (reading, writing, arithmetic) but ignore the fact that the way they are learning has changed.

On a personal note, while I was gone, the Little One decided to pop out another tooth. He now has two toofers on his bottom gum. Yea! On the other hand, nursing him has become a challenge. Ow. Trust me.

