My two year old is……..potty training. *nearly faints*

His older brothers didn’t even bother to start until they were nearly three years old and then it was a struggle for them to connect their bodily functions with the toilet. But not Joseph. He asked last weekend to go potty so my husband put him on the toilet. He hasn’t had a wet diaper since.

However, and this is a biggie, Jo still hasn’t figured out #2. He tells us after it happens and wants to sit on the potty but he hasn’t quite got the hang of telling us before hand. It’s a big step for him.

And for me. He’ll be in undies soon and won’t be my baby anymore. At least, not in the sense of being totally dependent upon me for most of his needs. He’s becoming his own person and it’s fabulous and heart breaking all at the same time.

On the other hand, I won’t have to change dirty diapers again which is a blessing in and of itself. So it’s a mixed emotional bag for this mom. How about you? Having mixed emotions about potty training and what it means for the future of your relationship with your child?

