Day 4 has come and gone. After we did some spring cleaning, i.e. scrubbing floors and wiping down blinds, the hubs and I (mostly I) decided It Was Time. We parked the kids at the lunch table and did our workout. He said Day 2 is the worst. Sure it is. But it’s nothing like Day 4.

You see by the time you get to Day 4 you think you’ve got it down. You know what’s coming and you start getting a little cocky.

Jillian wants pushups? Not a problem.

Jillian wants butt kicks? I can do that. I think.

Jillian wants me to do bicycle crunches? Please God! Make her stop!

Day 4 lulls you into a sense of complacency and then Jillian stomps all over your laziness with her no-nonsense attitude. I swear she’s going to come through the screen when she says “Don’t you dare stop!”

Okay! Okay! I won’t! Please don’t hurt me! Well, anymore than you already are with your evil jumping jacks.

I think the only way I made it through the workout, besides having a stubborn streak a mile wide, is that I ate beforehand. Normally, I don’t do that. But I found that if I have a light meal, a cup of cereal and 4 oz of low fat yogurt, about 20 to 30 minutes beforehand that I have the energy to keep going. Turns out, I was right.

Apparently, your glycogen level is low 1) after sleeping all night, or 2) if it’s been three or more hours after you’ve last eaten. If the glycogen level (carb store)  is low when you workout, the extra stress of working out makes your body go into starvation mode and it will conserve fat, not get rid of it. So, eat a small 100-200 calorie snack like I did before you workout and another meal within an hour after working out.

Don’t believe me? Check out “Eat Before Exercise?” by Tara Gidus (MS, RD, CSSD, LD/N) for more information.

