Why is it that working out on Sundays is the pits? Is it because the mornings are so full due to church and Sunday School? Or that we barbeque with my parents afterwards? Basically, I just don’t wanna exercise.

But we did anyway.

Today my muscles are exhausted. Not just hurting but exhausted. My arms are shaking a bit as I type and I think it’s because, for the first time, I almost kept up with the “modified version” workout girl. I didn’t take as many 5 second breaks as I have been so I must be doing something right. Yea me!

But the biggest motivator today happened during the second circuit when my husband, huffing and puffing away, shouted out, “I’m so glad we’re doing this together! I love you!” It made me smile throughout the rest of our workout.

I love you, too, sweetie!

Which brings me to a revelation I had after our workout: accountability. This isn’t a new concept. Many programs use it: WeightWatchers, Dave Ramsey’s FPU, etc. At home, I have my hubs to help me be responsible and commit to my goals. I have him to shout out encouragements and get on my tail if I start lagging behind.

In general, you and I will most likely commit more fully to our goals if there is someone there (a spouse, friend, parent, etc) to hold us accountable to those goals. You might know them better as an “exercise buddy.” Don’t believe me? Take a gander at “Misery Loves Company:Exercise Buddies Support Physical Activity” by Robin Warshaw.

Having my hubs as an accountability partner also brings to light something else I had not considered before: selfishness.

You see, if I stay overweight and out of shape, I shorten my life span through sheer self-indulgence. It’s selfish of me to take the good things that a wife and mother bring to a family away from my husband and kids. I refuse to do that anymore.

So the next time you think “I can’t do it today,” be accountable to yourself and your family. Stop being selfish. I know I am.

