If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the body or the mind of a 30-year old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want? Explain your answer, please.

While it is very tempting to go with the body of a 30 year old for the rest of my life, I have to ask first: who’s body do I get to keep?

If it’s mine, no thank you. I’ll take the mind of the 30 year old for the rest of my life. I figure I can get the most mileage out of it. I like the idea of being a mentally spry 90 year old and run mental rings around the assisted living facility nurses.

Seriously though, growing old gracefully is one of those personal choices we all have to make. That idea was brought home to me today when I had to see the doctor for a knee injury. I have a choice to bow to the inevitable or scream into the night “I will not go!”

Well, I won’t, darnit. I’ll do what I can to keep both my mind and my body sharp so that I can enjoy and thank the good Lord for all the blessings He has bestowed upon my family.

That means that I’ll continue to solve crossword puzzles, play scrabble, sweat during aerobics, lift weights, and all the other stuff to keep myself mentally and physically fit as long as I am able to.

In other words, I refuse to grow old gracefully inasmuch as I can (without the dubious benefit of drugs and/or plastic surgery).

So, what choice would you make? Scream into the night or bow to the inevitable? I want to know your opinion!

