If, at birth, you could select the profession your child would eventually pursue, would you do so? Why or why not? If so, what profession would you choose?
If not, what profession do you think your child might choose based on his/her current interests/personality?

If you had asked me before my first son was born, I would’ve chosen something grand or important or safe like a doctor, dentist or concert pianist. After having three boys, however, I have come to understand that my kids are going to do whatever it is that they want to do without my help or interference. They are three very distinct people with varying interests brought together by genetics, a roof over their heads, and an unyielding love for legos.

Eight years ago I would never had guessed that my eldest son would love turtles or that he would prefer juice to soda (yea for him!). Or that my four year old would love to hum and sing and dance. Or that my two year old can throw a ball at a hundred miles an hour with pinpoint accuracy (big leagues watch out!). I am amazed and awed by their talents and interests. So, my eldest may end up an engineer, my middle son a choreographer/artist/actor and my youngest might just be the next big baseball star.

No matter what they want to be when they grow up, and I expect them to change their minds about a hundred times before that actually happens (preferably before they have their own children), I want them to pursue something that makes them happy. There is nothing worse than going to a job that you hate for the rest of your life. All I ask is that they do that particular profession to the best of their abilities and make enough to live off of so they don’t have to live with me.

Thanks, Karen, for the best questions!

So, what profession do you, gentle reader, wish for your kids?

