If you could wake up tomorrow having gained one ability or quality, what would it be? How would this new-found ability or quality change your life?

A question asked by writefromkaren

Well, I don’t want to fly. I’m not afraid so much of heights as I am hitting the ground.

Stopping time would be nice but I wonder how things would move in a slipstream (I watch way to much Sci-Fi channel).

Or, possibly, the ability to multitask on a guru level. Kids, work, dinner, chores, church all done simultaneously? No problem.

But, since none of those will actually come true, short of a serious technological advancement I’m not sure I’d even want, I’ll settle for accessing the fruits of the Spirit.

Fruits The good Lord gave them to me but I seem to misplace them every once in a while. It’s like losing your keys and then being really happy (and a bit relieved) to find them just when you need them. I think if I could keep love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control in one spot that I could easily access, I’d be a superhero. I would be able to right the wrongs and do it with a glad heart.

Or maybe something a bit more realistic like having patience with kids wanting to ask questions while I’m trying to work, denying the temptation of a donut, or even showing the love I know I have to my husband on a daily, hourly, minute basis.

Unfortunately, I’m human which means that there are times when those fruits of the spirit are being blocked by my sinful nature. On the other hand, He loves me enough to be patient with me and keeps on whispering, “You left the fruit in your other pocket.”

Have I mentioned how grateful I am to be His child?

Have a power (human or otherwise) you’d like to have? I want to know!
