Buzz Aldrin on the Moon

Buzz Aldrin on the Moon

We should do more of it.

Seriously. It’s been years since we actually got a person on the moon (much less a female or a minority).

This dip we have in national curiosity about space reminds me of the early part of the 20th century when the US became isolationist. The only way to move forward is to look outward and, oh I don’t know, actually make that first move.

Which we did back on July 20th, 1969.

The goal was set by JFK in 1961 and reached by end of the decade. That’s what we can do when we work together and make the effort.

Moving forward, keeping the pace, and getting the job done. We’ve done it with other things, although those were mostly reactionary (9/11 & Katrina come to mind). Wouldn’t it be grand to do something positive & proactive again?

I would love to see my kids get excited about traveling the solar system. My eldest likes to watch the stars at night and, at our new place, we have a great view. I want him to think that he too can make it to the moon or beyond.

So, in my opinion, making that positive first step towards exploration and discovery is the goal the United States should focus on. We should continue what those space pioneers began in 1960’s, build on it, and create a new sense of wonder for the whole world.

